How It All Began a.k.a Le Debut

Leave a comment
Pour le Plaisir

A year ago, I was working at a coffee shop bored, lonely, and aimless.  And then, I went to Paris.  Sounds silly and cliché, I know: girl goes to Paris and finds adventure and love.  I can assure you, that’s not how it went down.

This past May, I packed up all my favorite clothes, bought a $1,000 flight from JFK to Charles de Gaulle, and made my way over to La Belle France.  In the weeks leading up to it, I was a nervous wreck.  Was my French good enough?  Would the Parisians be nice to me?  What was the safety like over there?  How much cheese is too much cheese?  All the totally valid questions.

Cheese

I knew absolutely no one in Paris.  Sure, my mother has family in France but they were MILES away and I was basically on my own.  My one saving grace was my french- however basic it may have been.  So I threw myself into the food, which was gooooooood.  But food doesn’t talk back at the dinner table, and it doesn’t go shopping with you.  Especially in Paris- food is NEVER to go.

AmorinoSoup

cafe

So I sat in my Parisian apartment and googled “how to make friends in Paris.”  Seriously.  I came across a website http://www.onvasortir.com and decided to give it a go.  Why not?  I had absolutely nothing to lose, and I was in no position to be choosey with friends.  I happened across a conversational group in Le Marais, where we sipped on espresso and practiced our French.  (Well, it was more like I practiced my french, and they practiced their english, but you get the idea)  I went back to my Parisian apartment that night a little less lonely, and a little more Française.

window

Finally, it was time for me to return to New York City (and this rascal!)

beluga

I was so sure such a group existed.  I mean, Meetup.com alone has thousands of groups! I went to several of them- one in particular where belly dancers were plentiful, but the french was not.  So I started it myself.

Now, here I am a year later, elated and proud with what I have accomplished so far.  Parlez Vous Franglais? is the first immersive language exchange of it’s kind dedicated to helping improve language skills through ONE-TO-ONE CONVERSATION.  Each guest will have several 12 minute conversations with different partners thus enabling them to meet new, likeminded people in their area!  We believe learning should be fun, and so our events take place in bars and restaurants all over your city!  It’s not a language course, it’s a social event!  Our “conversation driven” approach to learning a new language helps make certain that you are getting the tools, and practice you need to speak like a native.

I will say though, out of everything I gained in Paris, my greatest happiness is that I ate this croissant at Alain Ducasses’ boulangerie in the 17th (and several others!)  Best. Croissant. I’ve. Ever. Had.

croissant

Grosses Bises xx

Posted by

Big Pomme Magazine is NYC's hub for all things French & Francophone!

Leave a Comment!

