An Ode to Le Musée D’Orsay

Leave a comment
Pour le Plaisir, Uncategorized

It has to be said that I rarely enjoy a museum.  The Met in New York City, the Tate Britain in London, even Le Louvre in Paris.  I just find them tellement ennuyeux.

Seeing as I was in the awkward position of being a tourist in my own city, I slid into my boots, my new Parisian écharpe (an absolute must), and braved my way onto the RATP. RATP

For those of you who don’t know, the RATP is Paris’ transportation system, and stands for Régie Autonome des Transports Parisiens.  As you may imagine, Paris’ subways or métros are the fastest mode of transportation.  However, it has it’s ups and downs.  Personally, after accidentally winding up in one of Paris’ seedier areas, I chose to stick with the bus system.  In addition to the added safety of being aboveground, you can’t beat the view!  An RATP ticket is 1€70 in the station, or they are sold in carnets (packets) at your local tabac.  I desperately wish someone had told me that back then.

Tabac

I took my seat on the bus and stared out the enormous windows at all of Paris.

Invalides

Les Invalides

Elysees

Les Champs Élysées

When the bus arrived at my arret, I rushed off.  Before hitting any of the museums, there was something I had to do first.  You see, I developed a sort of addiction in Paris.  Every morning, and every apres-midi at precisely 4pm, I would have un café.  It wasn’t just me, but rather all of Paris doing this.  In fact, it’s almost weird if you don’t.  I took my seat at Le Courcelles, and safely deposited my purse next to the ashtray you’ll find on Every. Single. Table.  Bienvenue a Paris- smoking capitol of the world, I guess.

photo 2

photo 1Of course, I couldn’t resist ordering myself a little (not so little) croissant.  I was in Paris, so calories don’t count.

With a full belly, I made my way to the Musée D’Orsay.  Originally known as the Gare D’Orsay (gare, meaning railway station), it was turned into a museum in 1986.   It houses the largest collection oimpressionist and post-impressionist masterpieces in the world, by painters including MonetManetDegasRenoirCézanneSeuratSisleyGauguin and Van Gogh.

Paris museums are tourist central, and while I really could have done without the 30 minute line to get in I was left in awe at the masterpieces within.

photo 6

photo 5

I stopped short in a corridor when I came across Whistlers Mother.  The original!  Okay, I’m not going to lie and pretend I’m some sort of an art buff.  In truth, Whistlers Mother was first introduced to be in the form of Mr. Bean, the movie. But hey, I can still appreciate a masterpiece when I see it.

Hours later, the sun had set and it was time to go.  Seeing as the museum is on the banks of the Seine, I decided to go for a stroll.  All that was missing was a handsome Frenchman walking with me hand in hand.

photo 7

photo 8

photo 12

Ahhh Paris, comme vous etes belle.

Posted by

Big Pomme Magazine is NYC's hub for all things French & Francophone!

Leave a Comment!

