A Chocolat Chaud Kind of Day

Leave a comment
Le Food

America is my country, but Paris is my hometown.

On a trip to my fabulous city to take my final exams at the Sorbonne, I stopped off at Angelina’s.  What I really mean by that, is that I collapsed into a plush chair at Angelina’s after countless hours of shopping and marveling at the beautiful Galeries Lafayette.

It was a rainy Wednesday in Paris, and the skies were overcast.  Nobody ever tells you how hard it is to find an umbrella in this city.  Normally, I’d pop down to my local CVS and grab one, but les pharmacies Françaises don’t work that way. (More on that plus tard)

photo

I was staying on Boulevard de Courcelles, about a 20 minute walk from Boulevard Haussmann where les grandes magasins such as Printemps, and Les Galeries are located.  I didn’t know it was going to be a decadent, sucre-filled day when I woke up, but as soon as I saw the Café Pouchkine sign, I couldn’t NOT go in!  What’s a girl to do??

I mean, just look at THAT!

photo 1

photo 3
I must say, I ordered the wrong cake, and was a little less than impressed.  A little too dry for my taste.  The waiter was also a little too rude for my taste, but c’est comme ca, la France!  

Finally, it was time to shop.  Les Galeries Lafayette houses the most celebrated designers worldwide.  Chanel, Stella McCartney, Celine, need I go on?  What people don’t tell you about, however, is what’s being sold directly out the front doors- countless stands are set up, like mini marchés.  Don’t be fooled- while some are selling the typical touristy souvenirs and broken umbrellas (that was 5 euros lost) there are stands selling beautiful scarves and leather goods.  There’s cashmere, and superior quality leather sold at absolutely amazing prices.

I couldn’t resist and bought myself this little number.

Ritelle Sac a Main

I think it’s very Parisienne, don’t you?

Handbag en main, I made my way inside.  I was blown away by the sheer majesty of the architecture.

photo 4

photo 6

Galeries Lafayette even has their own brand, Collection Lafayette, and I couldn’t resist buying a little something for Papa.  The holiday season is coming up, and they deliver.  Just saying.

Needing a little fresh (wet) air, I went for a little stroll.  Paris really is one of the most beautiful cities in the world, and so full of life!

photo 9

It was only after all this, that I sat down for the most decadent, indulgent hot chocolate that I have ever had in my life.  Rich and creamy, it comes in its own pot with a side of chantilly cream if you want to be extra naughty.

photo 7

photo 8

You simply must check out Angelina’s next time your in Paris.  Their main cafe is on Rue de Rivoli, but I’d recommend checking out the one at Versailles.  Must be magical.

http://www.angelina-paris.fr

Maison

Posted by

Big Pomme Magazine is NYC's hub for all things French & Francophone!

Leave a Comment!

