Are You Hors de Prix?

Leave a comment
Pour le Plaisir

Hors de prix.  En Français?  Priceless.

Yesterday, I was exhausted.  Sick from a cold (un rhume for all you Frenchies) I donned my comfiest Uniqlo sweats, my baggiest cashmere sweater, and sat myself down for two hours to watch the BEST french movie that was ever made.  Ever.

Gad&Audrey
Okay, that may be an exaggeration.  I mean, it’s not Jean Luc Godard, or any kind of Nouvelle Vague Cinema Française.  In my opinion, it’s so much better.  It’s very rare that I enjoy any kind of French movie.  I know what you’re thinking, “she runs a French language exchange, and she doesn’t like French movies?”  C’est de la folie!

Perhaps it’s just my taste.  I like things to be a little more mainstream, and a little less artsy.  A little less film noire, and a little more Rom-Com.

If you’re with me- you simply MUST watch Hors de Prix.  Starring the absolutely adorable Audrey Tatou, as Iréne, Hors de Prix tells the story of a charming, yet misguided gold digger.

Audrey

Alongside her is the ever hilarious Gad Elmaleh, as Jean, who you may recognize from some of  his stand up comedy.

Gad

I laughed, I cried (from laughing so hard) and then I laughed again.  It may be some of the wittiest writing I’ve seen in a while.  Jean (Elmaleh) is enamored by the beautiful and cunning Iréne, who is on holiday with her fabulously wealthy and fabulously old boyfriend.  They have a passionate fling, and Iréne believes she’s hit the jackpot: wealthy, handsome, young.  But alas, in true comedic fashion, Iréne discovers she’s made a grave mistake.. Jean is not a wealthy man, he’s a hotel employee.

I won’t spoil the ending, but you’re in for a treat!  It’s the ultimate in feel good movies, and if that’s not enough for you, the gorgeous setting of the Cote d’Azur should be.  It’s available for rent on Netflix!

Jean wants you to watch… Voulez-vous regardez avec lui ce soir?

Posted by

Big Pomme Magazine is NYC's hub for all things French & Francophone!

Leave a Comment!

